Our committees include the Executive Committee, ANZDATA Advisory Committee, clinical themed Working Groups and Registry Operations & Secretariat.

  • Leads the Registry’s strategic direction
  • Ensure compliance with policies and fulfillment of statutory responsibilities
  • Supports the function of working groups
Professor Stephen McDonald

Professor McDonald is the Executive Officer of the Australia and New Zealand Dialysis and Transplant Registry. Based at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, Professor Stephen McDonald is Director of Dialysis and a Senior Staff Nephrologist at The Central Northern Renal and Transplantation Service; and Clinical Director of Renal Services for the Country Health region of SA Health. He holds academic status as Clinical Professor in the Department of Medicine of the University of Adelaide, and Principal Research Fellow in the SA Health and Medical Research Institute.

Dr Philip Calyton

Dr Clayton is the Deputy Executive Officer of the Australia and New Zealand Dialysis and Transplant (ANZDATA) Registry. He is a Consultant Nephrologist at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and his research interests include donor and recipient selection and outcomes, deceased donor kidney allocation, acute rejection, post-transplant diabetes mellitus and recurrent renal disease.

Kylie Hurst is General Manager for a suite of Registies including Australia and New Zealand Dialysis and Transplant Registry (ANZDATA), which includes the Australia and New Zealand Organ Donation Registry (ANZOD) and the Australian and New Zealand Living Kidney Donor Registry (ANZLKD).  She holds the academic qualifications of a Bachelor of Nursing and a Graduate Diploma of Nephrology. Her dedicated interest is end stage renal disease treatment, organ donation and transplantation outcomes and has a passionate interest in clinical quality registry development.

Dr Matthew Sypek is an adult and paediatric nephrologist based at the Royal Melbourne and Royal Children’s Hospitals in Victoria. He held the position of ANZDATA Epidemiology Fellow from 2017-2020 and completed his PhD focusing on kidney transplant allocation through the University of Melbourne in 2020. Dr Sypek is currently the Editor for the ANZDATA Registry Annual Report.

Professor Alan Cass is a leading Australian kidney specialist with extensive experience in Indigenous health and Indigenous communities, developed through his wide-ranging career as a kidney health researcher. In 2020, Prof Cass was made an Officer (AO) of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to medical research, particularly to the prevention and management of chronic kidney disease, to improved Indigenous clinical care and health outcomes, and as a mentor. 

Associate Professor Nicholas Gray is a Nephrologist, initially graduating from the University of Adelaide and completing his training in Queensland, Northern Territory, and South Australia. A/Prof Gray is currently Director Renal Services across the Sunshine Coast Hospital and Health Service (SCHHS) in Queensland. His areas of research interest include rural health, chronic kidney disease and haemodialysis, particularly long hour dialysis. A/Prof Gray is the Chair Elect of the ANZDATA Advisory Committee.

ANZDATA Advisory Committee

The ANZDATA Advisory Committee provides advice and guidance to the Executive about activities of the Registry. It has a particular focus on clinical matters and relationships with clinical stakeholders, including a close relationship with the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology (ANZSN), the Renal Society of Australasia (RSA) and the New Zealand National Renal Adviosry Board (NRAB).

The primary responsibilities of the ANZDATA Advisory Committee are to advise on matters and provide strategic input regarding:

  • Data collection, including frequency, quantity, quality and type of data collected as well as methods of collection
  • Dissemination of information from the Registry (including reports and other publications)
  • Release of data from the Registry to contributors, government, industry and others seeking access to the database
  • Function and membership of the various working groups
  • Relationships with clinical stakeholders and contributors

The Advisory Committee will comprise the following members:

  • The Chairperson; appointed by the ANZDATA Executive for a period of 3 years
  • The Deputy Chairperson (and Chair elect); appointed by the ANZDATA Executive for a period of 3 years
  • Members of ANZDATA Executive (Executive Officer, Deputy Executive Officer, Editor, Registry General Manager)
  • Convenors of ANZDATA working groups
  • Representatives from contributing Renal Units including:
  • four (4) “general” members from contributing units (including at least one member from New Zealand) and
  • two (2) consumer representatives, from the ANZDATA consumer advisory board(s)*
  • Representatives (or proxies) from:
  • Kidney Health Australia – Clinical Director or Delegate
  • Australia and New Zealand Society of Nephrology (ANZSN) – President or Council Member
  • Renal Society of Australasia (RSA) – nominated by RSA from EOI
  • General Members of contributing units will be chosen by the ANZDATA Executive, based on an Expression of Interest (EOI), circulated as a minimum through Heads of Units, ANZSN, RSA and KHA.
  • Membership for general members and working group heads will be for 3 years, with an option to be extended to a second 3-year term in any given role.
  • Selection of nominee(s) will be based on standing in the nephrological community, skill set, productivity, ability to work with others and diversity (noting one of the aims is to provide a broad range or perspectives).
  • The Chair and Deputy Chair will be members of the ANZDATA Executive

There are at least four meetings each year, held on a quarterly basis.  It is expected members attend a minimum of 3 meetings each calendar year.  A quorum for a meeting shall comprise of 10 members.

Standing agenda items include:

  • Welcome, Apologies, Acknowledgement of Country and Maori Welcome
  • Acceptance of Previous Minutes and Action Items
  • Report from ANZDATA Executive
  • Reports from Working Groups
  • Update from Kidney Health Australia
  • Data Governance & Management Issues
  • Strategic Directions

Previous Minutes and Action Items

The terms of reference were last updated and endorsed in November 2020